Huttenlocher Award

Dr-Peter-HuttenlocherThe Flux community honors Dr. Peter Huttenlocher’s distinguished and pioneering contributions to the field of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience by establishing the Huttenlocher Lecture, which is awarded to an outstanding researcher in the field each year.  Dr. Huttenlocher was a pediatric neurologist and neuroscientist who is considered one of the fathers of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience.

His prolific body of work using histological approaches began in the 1970’s culminating with groundbreaking publications in the 90’s describing the protracted and hierarchical nature of synaptic pruning in the human brain occurring earliest in the occipital lobe and latest in the frontal lobe. These findings, suggesting a mechanism for ongoing neural plasticity through adolescence into young adulthood, has had great impact not only in developmental science and clinical medicine, but also in the realms of education and law.

In addition to his extraordinary impact on the world of developmental cognitive neuroscience, Dr. Huttenlocher made remarkable contributions to his clinical discipline – pediatric neurology – as a physician, teacher, scientist, and mentor.

Huttenlocher Lecturer – 2019 Congress

BJ Casey

BJ Casey

Fundamentals of the Adolescent Brain (FAB) Lab, Yale University - Visiting Investigator, The Rockefeller University

Dr. BJ Casey is a Professor of Psychology and Director of the Fundamentals of the Adolescent Brain (FAB) Lab at Yale University and Visiting Scientist at The Rockefeller University. Casey pioneered the use of functional magnetic resonance imaging to examine typical and atypical human brain development in the early 1990s and is a world leader in the field of developmental neuroscience. She has received international acclaim for her empirical and theoretical work on the adolescent brain. Her discoveries have provided new insights as to why young people respond to the world in unique ways that have important implications for justice reform. 

Past Huttenlocher Lecturers

2018 Congress: Uta Frith Ph.D.
Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience at University College London

2017 Congress: Linda Spear Ph.D.
University of Florida

image0012016 Congress: Michael Posner
Professor Emeritus of Psychology, University of Oregon, USA
Adjunct Professor at Weill Medical College

MarkJohnson2015 Congress: Mark H Johnson
Director of the Centre for Brain and Cognitive Development School of Psychology, Birkbeck College, UK

terry2014 Congress: Terry L. Jernigan
Professor of Cognitive Science, Psychiatry, and Radiology
Director, University of California, San Diego Center for Human Development, USA
Watch the Lecture

David-Lewis_Huttenlocher12013 Congress: David A. Lewis
Chairman, Department of Psychiatry
UPMC Endowed Professor in Translational Neuroscience
Medical Director and Director of Research
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Director Translational Neuroscience Program
Director NIMH Conte Center for the Neuroscience of Mental Disorders
University of Pittsburgh, USA