Huttenlocher Award


The Flux community honors Dr. Peter Huttenlocher’s distinguished and pioneering contributions to the field of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience by establishing the Huttenlocher Lecture, which is awarded to an outstanding researcher in the field each year. Dr. Huttenlocher was a pediatric neurologist and neuroscientist who is considered one of the fathers of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience.

His prolific body of work using histological approaches began in the 1970’s culminating with groundbreaking publications in the 90’s describing the protracted and hierarchical nature of synaptic pruning in the human brain occurring earliest in the occipital lobe and latest in the frontal lobe. These findings, suggesting a mechanism for ongoing neural plasticity through adolescence into young adulthood, has had great impact not only in developmental science and clinical medicine, but also in the realms of education and law.

In addition to his extraordinary impact on the world of developmental cognitive neuroscience, Dr. Huttenlocher made remarkable contributions to his clinical discipline – pediatric neurology – as a physician, teacher, scientist, and mentor. 

The Huttenlocher Award reflects transformative contributions to the field that inspires future generations of researchers through unique insights about developmental cognitive neuroscience. The award winner receives complimentary registration and a 60-minute presentation slot at the next Flux Congress.

Eligibility criteria: Scientists eligible for this award will have been working in the area of developmental cognitive neuroscience for at least 20 years following their terminal degree.

Nominations can be submitted via the button below or emailed to .

Application Materials

  1. Short paragraph justifying nomination: The nomination should be a few sentences describing why this person has been a pioneer or foundational member in the field of developmental cognitive neuroscience
  2. Three papers: Include three papers that should be emphasized in the evaluation

Due by January 15, 2022

The Flux Board will make the final determination on the winner of the Huttenlocher Award each year.

Past Huttenlocher Lecturers

2021 Congress: Prof.Dr.Dr. h.c.Angela D. Friederici, Director at the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences

2020 Congress: Dr. John Gabrieli, Investigator, McGovern Institute, Grover Hermann Professor, Health Sciences and Technology; Professor, Brain and Cognitive Sciences

2019 Congress: BJ Casey, Fundamentals of the Adolescent Brain (FAB) Lab, Yale University – The Rockefeller University

2018 Congress: Uta Frith, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience at University College London

2017 Congress: Linda Spear Ph.D. University of Florida
Watch the Lecture

2016 Congress: Michael Posner Professor Emeritus of Psychology, University of Oregon, USA Adjunct Professor at Weill Medical College

2015 Congress: Mark H Johnson
Director of the Centre for Brain and Cognitive Development School of Psychology, Birkbeck College, UK

2014 Congress: Terry L. Jernigan
Professor of Cognitive Science, Psychiatry, and Radiology
Director, University of California, San Diego Center for Human Development, USA
Watch the Lecture

2013 Congress: David A. Lewis
Chairman, Department of Psychiatry
UPMC Endowed Professor in Translational Neuroscience
Medical Director and Director of Research
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Director Translational Neuroscience Program
Director NIMH Conte Center for the Neuroscience of Mental Disorders
University of Pittsburgh, USA