Sponsored by APA’s Division 7 (Developmental Psychology), the Boyd McCandless Award recognizes a young scientist who has made a distinguished theoretical contribution to developmental psychology, has conducted programmatic research of distinction, or has made a distinguished contribution to the dissemination of developmental science. The award is for continued efforts rather than a single outstanding work. The award is presented by the membership of Division 7 of the American Psychological Association, and the award winner will be invited to address the following year's meeting of the APA.

Eligibility: Scientists who are within seven years of completion of the doctoral degrees are eligible, and for the 2023 award (to be judged in 2022), nominees should have received their degrees in 2015 or later. In special circumstances when the scientist has taken an extended leave of absence (e.g., for their own serious health condition, for the birth or care of their child, to care for an immediate family member who has a serious health condition, etc.), one extra year of eligibility may be granted. Any scientist wishing to be considered for an extra year of eligibility should submit a letter explaining the circumstances to the Chairs of the Award Committee along with official documentation of the leave.

Deadline: March 15th 2022

Nominations should include:

A letter of nomination

The nominee’s curriculum vitae

Up to four representative publications

Suggestions for three potential referees who have agreed to provide a letter of recommendation for the candidate upon request by the selection committee

Please email nomination materials to the chairs of the selection committee:

Natalie Brito


Department of Applied Psychology

New York University

Camelia Hostinar


Department of Psychology

University of California, Davis